top of page

Lack of Discipline

Ready or Not, Quarter 3 is here!!


I didn't reach my Quarter 1 & 2 goals, but that's okay. It's time to kick the dust off of my boots and keep it moving!


Today, I received a word that changed the trajectory of my focus. This is a pivotal season for me; realigning and getting focused on what God has called me to do.

The word "Discipline" is my word for this season. Having discipline, along with consistency and obedience, I’ll reach my goals in no time...


What the first half of the year has taught me so far is that DISCIPLINE breeds RESULTS. I honestly have not been showing up for myself. I figured that it was from the lack of motivation and inconsistency, but I learned that motivation isn't what gets you up in the morning; its discipline.


Discipline says "YES" when your mind and your body is telling you "NO". Discipline breeds consistency and consistency gets results. If I continue to wait on moments of motivation, I will never reach my goals. I'm allowing an emotion to control the outcome of my life. If I shift my mindset and choose to go after all that God has for me on a daily basis, there is no limit to what I can accomplish.

 

Truth be told, this post has been sitting in my draft box for the past 4 years; waiting to be published.


Now, here we are! It's December 2023, my life looks and feels very familiar. Truth is, I've been stuck in the same cycle of trials and tests since I originally started this post. The second half of the year comes around and I'm faced with the similar thoughts and emotions. I'm motivated to end the year better than I started. Once the new calendar year begins, and sometimes even before the current year ends, I'm faced with new trials that leave me in a state of paralysis. I allow my emotions to overcome my actions, instead of discipline. In result, I find myself further from God.


"No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it." - Hebrews 12:11

So, what is God trying to show me?


I believe that God is showing me that my perspective is all wrong. A lack of discipline is the reason why my life has been a rollercoaster of up and downs, twists and turns. Over the years, I have been goal oriented and not God oriented. I've been busy doing the next thing opposed to spending quality time with Him reading the Bible, seeking His wisdom/guidance and praying fervently. God is simply trying to get my attention. He truly desires for me to refocus on HIM. Not on setting another goal.


God wants me to spend more time in His Word in order to build up my faith. When trials come (because they will), I will have an unshakable, immovable faith, trusting in His promises.


My Father in Heaven has been so gracious to me in this life. His mercy has kept me. As I update and finish this post, I now understand that God's purpose for discipline is correction. God's desire has been to align my actions with His will for my life. DISCIPLINE needs to be a lifestyle for us all. Not just a word for the season!


What discipline looks like for me:


  • Spending more uninterrupted time with God by waking up earlier than my household to read God's Word, pray and journal daily. Seeking wholeness in Him.


  • Eliminating distractions like binge watching tv, scrolling through social media, listening to secular music. Spending less time being consumed by forms of entertainment in this world.

"Do not conform to the patten of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of the mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God's will is- his good, pleasing and perfect will." - Romans 12:2

As I journey on to deepening my relationship with the Lord and strengthening my faith in His Word, I encourage you to do the same.





Until next time,

Ashley

Beauty is grace and confidence.⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Hi, thanks for joining my journey!

As a Professional Model, Lifestyle Blogger and Content Creator, I hope to connect with you through my love for fashion, beauty, art, COFFEE. and more. I'm excited to share some of my life experiences as a woman of God, wife, mother, and entrepreneur. I promise to be transparent with you throughout this journey by not only sharing the good, but also the bad and the ugly. I aspire to encourage and inspire you along the way!!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for subscribing!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page